Preliminary Programme, Amsterdam Conference 22-23 June 2012

Posted on by Stephen Mennell

Preliminary program Reinventing Norbert Elias: For an open sociology

Amsterdam, 22 and 23 June 2012 

PLEASE NOTE: THIS IS THE PRELIMINARY  PROGRAM. THE FINAL PROGRAM WILL BE MADE AVAILABE ONLINE AROUND MAY 5.

Day 1: Friday 22 June 2012

9:00-9:30                 Coffee, tea

Plenary session 1: Reinventing Elias in the Netherlands 

9:30-9:35                 Welcome:  Rineke van Daalen & Giselinde Kuipers

9:35-9:45                 Jan Willem Duyvendak (University of Amsterdam): the legacy of Elias in Amsterdam

9:45-10:15               Justus Uitermark (Erasmus University Rotterdam): Elias 2.0 – The figurational dynamic of contemporary political struggle

10:15-10:45                 Nico Wilterdink (University of Amsterdam): Controversial science: Good and bad sociology

10:45-11:15                 Questions and & Discussion

11:15-11:30                 Coffee, tea

11:30-13:00 Session 1

Bodies 1:  The civilized body

Dieter Vandebroeck  (Free University Brussels) – Norbert Elias and the “obesity epidemic” dieter.vandebroeck@vub.ac.be

Michael Rees (University of Kent) – [title] mdr26@kent.ac.uk

Discussant: Bowen Paulle

Historical Sociology and Elias 1

Allison Moore (Edgehill University) –  Making Sense of Sexuality in the 21st Century through an Eliasian Lens or why we must revisit the past to understand the present. moorea@edgehill.ac.uk

Rineke van Daalen (University of Amsterdam) – The past in people’s minds. r.m.vandaalen@uva.nl

Freek de Haan (Erasmus University Rotterdam) – Chronos, Kairos, Aion: A Deleuzian reinvention of Elias as a complexity theorist. dehaan@fsw.eur.nl.

Discussants: Van Daalen, Postberg, Jderu. With sidekicks.

13:00-14:00 Lunch

14:00- 15:15 Session 2

Bodies 2: The performing body

Sylvia Holla (University of Amsterdam) – The Valuation and Devaluation of History in the Modelling Industry. s.m.holla@uva.nl

Anna Mann (University of Amsterdam) – Two version of one biological mechanism. “Tasting” performed in natural science experiments a.m.mann@uva.nl

Discussant: Michael Rees

Historical Sociology and Elias 2

Christian Postberg (University of Graz) – The power of money. The impact of the first silver discovery in the High Middle Ages on feudal power balances. postberg@freenet.de

Gabriel Jderu (University of Bucharest) – Motorcycle as Figuration: Three Stages of Motorcycling Culture in Romania. gabriel.jderu@sas.unibuc.ro

Discussants: Moore, De Haan. With sidekicks(!)

15:15-15:30 Coffee, tea

15:30- 17:30 Session 3

Emotions 1: Looking for new ways of control: on changing power balances and the management of behaviour and emotions

Amanda Rohloff (Brunel University) – “Hello Sunday Morning”! On the regulation of emotions and the management of identity in people who temporarily stop drinking alcohol. amanda.rohloff@brunel.ac.uk

Gary Sinclair –Heavy metal figurations: music and emotion in the digital age, gary.sinclair@dit.ie

Don Weenink (Wageningen University) – Shame and uncontrollable violence., don.weenink@wur.nl

Manuela Beyer (Free University Berlin) –  “Listen to Your Heart” – Historical Developments in Advice on Emotions in a German Youth Magazine manuela.beyer@fu-berlin.de

Discussant tba

National habitus and sociological comparison 1: habitus, nations and globalization 

Andreas Pickel (Trent University). The end may not be near: Conceptual foundations and empirical mechanisms of national culture and habitus. apickel@trentu.ca

Giselinde Kuipers (University of Amsterdam and Erasmus University Rotterdam) – The rise and decline of national habitus: Dutch cycling culture and the making of national similarity. g.m.m.kuipers@uva.nl

Dieter Reicher (University of Graz) – ‘Survival Unit’ and ‘National Habitus’. Problems of using these concepts by analyzing ethnic groups and nations without state. dieter.reicher@uni-graz.at

John Lever (JBL Research) The postliberal politics of halal: new trajectories in the civilizing process? john@jblresearch.org

Discussant tba

19:00 Dinner and the finish of the Short Intensive Course, given during the week before the conference by Robert van Krieken and Bart van Heerikhuizen. (Invited guests: Joop Goudsblom, Abram de Swaan, Bart van Heerikhuizen, Robert van Krieken, Stephen Mennell, Nico Wilterdink) 

Day 2: June 23

9:00 -9:30 Coffee, tea

Plenary session 2: Reinventing Elias: views from France and the UK

9:30 -10:15  Natalie Heinich (CNRS Paris) – Title tba heinich@ehess.fr

10:15-11:00  Jason Hughes (Brunel University) – Title tba. jason.hughes@brunel.ac.uk

11:00-11:15 Coffee, tea

11:15-12:45  Session 4

Emotions 2: Emotions, identities and groups

Angela Perulli (University of Florence) – Emotions and inequalities: the role of group charisma and group disgrace. angela.perulli@unifi.it

Thomas Gilbert (Elias and the Sociology of Ideas: Kierkegaard’s Either/Or as the Psychogenesis of Existentialism.  gilbert45701@gmail.com

Jette Westerbeek (Utrecht University) – The social construction of depression. j.a.westerbeek@uu.nl

Discussant tba

National habitus and sociological comparison 2: established and outsiders 

Artur Bogner (University of Bayreuth) – Outsiders without Groups? The Spectre of Groups without We-Images. Artur.Bogner@web.de

Marta Bucholc (University of Warsaw) – Outside the Moral Circle. Polish Political Refugees in Norway in the Nineteen Eighties: Between the Established and the Outsider Habitus. bucholcm@is.uw.edu.pl

Cas Wouters (Utrecht University) – Title tba

Discussant tba

12:45-13:45 Lunch

13:45-15:15 Session 5

Bodies 3: The trained body

Ramona Marinache (University of Bucharest) – Civilizing body, medicalizing sleep in Romania.  ramona. marinache@sas.unibuc.ro

Bowen Paulle & Bart van Heerikhuizen (University of Amsterdam) – The Bodily Dimension of Learning in Elias and Bourdieu. b.paulle@uva.nl & b.vanheerikhuizen@uva.nl

Discussant: Dieter van de Broeck

National habitus and national comparison 3: National styles and national comparisons 

Peter Ludes (Jacobs University Bremen) – Shifting Power Presentation Ratios in Chinese, German, and US Tele-Vision. p.ludes@jacobs-university.de

Johan Heilbron (Centre européen de sociologie et de science politique de la Sorbonne & Erasmus University Rotterdam – Reconceptualizing national traditions in the social sciences. heilbron@msh-paris.fr  & heilbron@fsw.eur.nl

Gad Yair (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem) – The Israeli Post-Traumatic Habitus: Between Exile and Independence. msyairg@huji.ac.il

15:15-15:30 Coffee and tea

15:30-17:00  Concluding panel

17:00 Drinks 

Last edited on:02,May 2017 11:50:19 by Arjan Post